Roasted Butternut Squash with Brown Butter Sauce

by Sugar | Kill

 

BSquash5

I haven’t had a recipe blow my mind in quite a while. With the new palate, I’m beginning to pick out flavors I hadn’t tasted as well in the past, and it’s getting me really excited! I pretty much devoured this the first time I made it a few days ago, and I’m ready to round two. This is a fantastic Fall/Winter dish since you can serve warm and has pumpkin pie -esqe quality to it.

The original recipe for the first portion was found on The Paleo Project (she has a great list of recipes that I plan on trying here). The brown butter sauce I found on Epicurious, and I thought it would be a great compliment for the dish, especially since I’m using grass fed butter (Kerry Gold from Trader Joe’s).

Here goes:

ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH WITH BROWN BUTTER SAUCE

  • 1 Large Butternut Squash (or in my case, two medium sized ones)
  • Grass Fed Butter – 1/3 cup
  • 2 tbs Olive Oil (from Portugal – but any will do)
  • 1 tbs Nutmeg
  • 2 tbs Cinnamon

RECIPE

Peel the Butternut Squash, cut off the stem ends. Scoop out the guts (make sure to save the seeds for a snack later….). Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

BSquash4

Cut into 1 X 1 cubes (you can cut a little smaller if you like them to be softer). In a large bowl, combine the squash with the olive oil and cinnamon. Dash a little nutmeg on top. Combine well.

Put on either a cookie dish with aluminum foil or (I prefer) a plexiglass dish. Spread evenly and leave a little room between cubes if you can. Pop in the oven for 45 minutes or tender. In the meantime, start the brown butter sauce. Melt the butter in a small pan and combine with nutmeg. Stir the mixture on low heat until it turns a creamy light brown color, about 3-5 minutes.

BSquash1

Bring out those licious squash cubes, and pour the nut butter sauce all over dat ass. Turn slightly to coat, then eat!

Modifications: You can add a little honey before roasting if you’re allowing yourself some sweet time, but the dish tastes like dessert all on it’s own with a fresh palate 🙂

**SIDE NOTE: Never, ever, ever thought I would eat vegetables for breakfast!

